Der Trümmermörder

Cay Rademacher

Der Trümmermörder


336 pages
Original edition
First day of sale: 13.01.2016
ISBN 978-3-8321-6154-5

A Crime Novel, Ca. 352 pp.

English sample translation available!

“Rademacher raises profound questions about individual justice against a backdrop of mass murder. Undoubtedly the most powerful work of crime fiction I have read this year.” Jane Jakeman, The Independent

“You better dress warm: Cay Rademacher’s thriller tells the story of the bitter cold winter of 1946/47, and so realistically that you are likelier to get frostbite than goose pimples.” Brigitte

“A compelling read, as much a historical novel as a crime novel, "The Rubble Murders" creates life in post-war Hamburg under British occupation. (...) The story is gripping, the language forceful, the setting absorbing. A spine-tingling portrayal of how the defeated interact with their victors.” New Books in German

“A highly worthwhile example of German crime literature.” ORF

“A gripping, in-depth historical crime novel.” Ostthüringer Zeitung

A serial killer in post-war Hamburg
Contemporary German history packed in a thrilling crime novel
Based on an authentic case

Hamburg 1947: the city lies in ruins. It is the coldest winter of the century. The peo-ple try to survive as best they can. And then a corpse is discovered between the rub-ble: a young woman, naked, no clues. Chief inspector Stave has little hope of solving the case amidst the post-war turmoil despite the assistance offered him by Lothar Maschke from the vice squad and Lieutenant MacDonald from the British administra-tion. A second body is soon discovered. And then a third – Stave is grateful for any help he can get in his hunt for a savage killer.
Cay Rademacher brings an exciting and authentic case from Hamburg in the 1946/47 winter of hunger to life.

Rights sold: English World (Arcadia Books); French World (Le Masque); Spanish World (Edi-ciones Maeva)

Cay Rademacher

Cay Rademacher, geboren 1965, ist freier Journalist und Autor. Bei DuMont erschienen seine Kriminalromane aus dem Hamburg der Nachkriegszeit: ›Der Trümmermörder‹ (2011), ›Der Schieber‹ (2012) und ›Der Fälscher‹ (2013). Seine Provence-Krimiserie umfasst: ›Mörderischer Mistral‹ (2014), ›Tödliche Camargue‹ (2015), ›Brennender Midi‹ (2016), ›Gefährliche Côte Bleue‹ (2017), ›Dunkles Arles‹ (2018) und ›Verhängnisvolles Calès‹ (2019). Außerdem erschien 2019 der Kriminalroman ›Ein letzter Sommer in Méjean‹. Cay Rademacher lebt mit seiner Familie in der Nähe von Salon-de-Provence in Frankreich.