Helmut Krausser



320 pages
First day of sale: 31.08.2006
ISBN 978-3-8321-7988-5

Helmut Krausser

“A novel about the fine lines between love, passion and delusion, about the anatomy of obsession and, just by the way, about the disastrous twentieth century. With “Eros” Helmut Krausser has written his most powerful and most tender, and his most poetical book: A great book!”
Daniel Kehlmann

“Contemporary history and a clever art of narration in one text – there’s nothing more to ask for.”
Financial Times

“Helmut Krausser is a passionate narrator, an artist of seduction.”
Süddeutsche Zeitung

“You can’t ask for much more in literature!”
Frankfurter Rundschau

Alexander von Brücken gets to know Sofie in the nights of bombing in World War II. He is the off-spring of a dynasty of factory owners. His father associates with the Nazi regime. Sofie’s parents work in his factory. Only the cramped conditions in the air-raid shelter brings the children together. But Sofie just kisses him for money. Because Alexander von Brücken is rich, and will be rich all his life. And all his life he will be obsessed with his feelings for Sofie.

“Eros” tells the story of an unfulfilled passion. Alexander von Brücken can fulfill himself every wish but this one. He uses his means to discover someone else’s life, to accompany it – to influence it. In 1967, after the visit of the Shah, Sofie goes underground. When her terrorist group plans to kidnap von Brücken, she is supposed to play the decoy.

“Eros” follows two people when they play hide-and-seek in the German postwar era – into the shal-lows of the terrorist scene, which doesn’t allow dropouts, and into the hiding place of a concrete build-ing of the Stasi time.

“Eros” tells decades-lasting story about a hunter and his lovely prey: A novel of love and death.

Rights sold to: De Geus (Dutch), Eutopa Editions (World English), Payot & Rivages (French), Indiktos (Greek), Edizione E/O (Italian), Geleos (Russian), Apollon (Turkish)

Helmut Krausser

Helmut Krausser, born in 1964, lives in Berlin. His novels "Eros" (2006), "Die kleinen Gärten des Maestro Puccini" (2008), "Einsamkeit und Sex und Mitleid" (2009), "Die letzten schönen Tage" (2011), "Aussortiert" (2011) and "Nicht ganz schlechte Menschen" (2012) as well as his collection of poems "Plasma" (2007) and "Verstand und Kürzungen" (2014), his diaries "Substanz" (2010) and "Deutschlandreisen" (2014) have been published by DuMont. His novels "Der große Bagarozy", "Fette Welt" and "Einsamkeit und Sex und Mitleid" were adapted for cinema.