Helmut Krausser


302 pages
First day of sale: 07.03.2014
ISBN 978-3-8321-8094-2


About 250 pages

Spring 2014

"These diaries will be read as long as there are people interested in German literature."
Daniel Kehlmann in the Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung

Krausser’s travel journal through his country and work

There are four seasons and four points on a compass. Helmut Krausser has undertaken four trips, travelling to all corners of Germany. He travelled by plane and by train, by taxi and on foot. Helmut Krausser describes cities with more attention to detail and sensitivity than other writers describe the characters in their novels. He is an astute observer of the present day, uncompromis-ing with himself and everyone else whose path he crosses. Supplemented by the poetics lectures “Pathos and Precision” given by the author at the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, the travel accounts and diary entries provide intimate insights into his work.

It is curious to arrive at an age in which you associate most of the cities you travel to with victories or defeats. The map becomes historical, becomes a battlefield.

This book brings us closer to Helmut Krausser than we have ever been.

Rights to previous books sold to: De Geus (Dutch ), Europa Editions (English World), Payot et Rivages (French), Indiktos (Greek), Edizione E/O (Italian), Barbera (Italian), SUDA (Korean)

Helmut Krausser

Helmut Krausser, born in 1964, lives in Berlin. His novels "Eros" (2006), "Die kleinen Gärten des Maestro Puccini" (2008), "Einsamkeit und Sex und Mitleid" (2009), "Die letzten schönen Tage" (2011), "Aussortiert" (2011) and "Nicht ganz schlechte Menschen" (2012) as well as his collection of poems "Plasma" (2007) and "Verstand und Kürzungen" (2014), his diaries "Substanz" (2010) and "Deutschlandreisen" (2014) have been published by DuMont. His novels "Der große Bagarozy", "Fette Welt" and "Einsamkeit und Sex und Mitleid" were adapted for cinema.