Roman Ehrlich



272 pages

First day of sale: 13.01.2016
ISBN 978-3-8321-9753-7

Short Stories
ca. 200 pages
Autumn 2014

Winner of the Robert-Walser-Prize 2014

“A highly talented illusionist.” FAZ on Das kalte Jahr

"Brilliant. Simply literature: Language, world design, textualised crisis-situation.”
TAGESSPIEGEL on Das kalte Jahr

Magical stories about being human among humans

The conversation during a quiz programme between the moderator and a candidate suddenly becomes very personal. A sea cow at the Sealife aqua park spits out a children’s cassette radio with curious record-ings. And an agency for alternative realities lauds a mysterious product: “Our offering is not intended primarily for those who always wanted to be someone else but rather for those who think that everyone else should someone else.”
After his much-praised debut novel Das kalte Jahr, Roman Ehrlich has assembled eleven stories from
everyday life in Urwaldgäste – with a false bottom and mysterious precipices. It concerns the turning points in our working and media world; the moments in which people get left behind, become needy for protec-tion and love. They demand something that usually does not play a significant role in life, namely that their own story can now finally begin.

Roman Ehrlich,
born 1983 in Aichach, raised in Neuburg an der Donau, studied at the Deutsches Literaturinstitut Leipzig and the Freie Universität Berlin. He received the advancement award to the Bremer Literaturpreis and the Robert Walser Prize for his debut novel “Das kalte Jahr” (DuMont 2013).

Roman Ehrlich

Roman Ehrlich, geboren 1983 in Aichach, aufgewachsen in Neuburg an der Donau, studierte am Deutschen Literaturinstitut Leipzig und an der Freien Universität Berlin. Er war Stipendiat der Werkstatttage des Wiener Burgtheaters, nominiert für den open mike und Teilnehmer der Autorenwerkstatt Prosa am LCB. Für seinen Debütroman ›Das kalte Jahr‹ (DuMont 2013) erhielt er den Automatische-Literaturkritik-Preis der Riesenmaschine, den Förderpreis zum Bremer Literaturpreis sowie den Robert-Walser-Preis.